Guides · airline policy guide

Alaska Airlines Pet Policy in Cabin: 2026 Guide

Check Alaska Airlines in-cabin dog carrier size, current fees, reservation steps, partner flights, and destination rules before you pay in 2026.

FG TeamFurry Guardian editorial teamOctober 23, 2026
Rules verifiedOctober 23, 2026 · checked by the team

When an article contains affiliate links, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes which products we recommend, and plain links to manufacturers earn us nothing.

Traveler measuring a soft-sided dog carrier before an Alaska Airlines flight

Alaska Airlines Pet Policy in Cabin: 2026 Guide

Direct answer: Alaska Airlines lets small dogs travel in the cabin if they fit in a soft-sided carrier. The carrier can be no larger than 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches. The fee is $100 per carrier each way. It is $35 for travel wholly within the State of Hawaiʻi. First, book your passenger ticket. Then contact Guest Care to reserve pet space. Space is subject to availability. Checked October 23, 2026. The source was Alaska Airlines' official news guidance. Check the live in-cabin pet policy before paying.

This guide helps you check a dog, carrier, and route before purchase. It offers planning support. It is not medical advice or a promise that an airline will accept a pet. You must check airline space on its own. You must also check the rules of each operating carrier. The destination entry rules are a separate check.

What does the Alaska Airlines pet policy in cabin require in 2026?

A small dog must fit inside the stated soft-sided carrier. The traveler must reserve pet space after booking the passenger ticket. Alaska's official guidance sets a maximum size for a soft-sided carrier. It is 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches. The guidance says to contact Guest Care after booking to reserve space. Space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

This creates two decisions. First, decide if the dog can travel under the carrier rule. Second, confirm that the flight has pet space. A carrier may meet the stated size. That alone does not confirm space or acceptance.

Use the broader airline pet policy guide to compare how to check a trip. For carrier features and measuring points, see the pet carrier backpack guide. A product label does not replace a check of the real carrier.

What should I check before paying for a ticket?

Check physical fit, pet-space availability, each operating airline, and destination entry rules on their own. The table links the official evidence to choices about payment. No single check means final acceptance.

CheckWhat official evidence saysAction before payment
Dog and carrier fitA cabin dog must fit inside a soft-sided carrier. It can be no larger than 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).Measure the carrier's outer length, width, and height. Ask Alaska to apply its current acceptance rule to your dog and carrier.
Pet-space reservationAfter booking the passenger ticket, contact Guest Care to reserve pet space; space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).Check the live policy, understand the booking sequence, and plan to contact Guest Care promptly after booking.
Partner-operated segmentsAnother airline may operate part of the trip. Contact that partner directly to reserve space, learn its fees, and get more information (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).Find the operating carrier for each segment. Contact each partner before you commit to the route.
Route entry rulesPet travel rules depend on the destination. For travel outside the United States, the destination country sets its entry rules (USDA APHIS, Checked October 23, 2026).Check the destination's current government process on its own. It is separate from the airline process. Start with the USDA pet travel guide.
Hawaii official checkHawaii gives animal entry facts through its official Animal Quarantine Information program (Hawaii Department of Agriculture, Checked October 23, 2026).Read the current Hawaii government page for the exact trip. An airline reservation is not entry clearance.

How much does it cost to fly a dog in the cabin?

The stated fee is $100 per carrier each way. It is $35 when travel is wholly within the State of Hawaiʻi. Checked October 23, 2026. They appear in Alaska Airlines' official guidance.

Confirm the final amount and terms on the live Alaska pet policy before payment. Another airline may operate a segment. If so, Alaska tells you to contact that partner directly. Ask about its fees and reserve pet space (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

What size dog can fly in cabin on Alaska Airlines?

The official evidence gives a carrier-size rule, not a dog weight limit. A small dog must fit in a soft-sided carrier. It can be no larger than 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

Do not use weight alone to predict acceptance. Measure the real carrier. Discuss the current fit and acceptance rule with Alaska. The airline's live decision covers the dog and carrier. It also covers the flight and the facts given to the airline.

Can a 20 lb dog fit under an airplane seat?

A 20 lb number alone cannot answer the question under the cited Alaska rule. The official guidance says a small dog must fit in a soft-sided carrier. Its maximum size is 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches. The evidence used here gives no dog weight limit (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

Measure the carrier instead of relying on a weight-based claim. Then ask Alaska for its current acceptance decision before travel. Do not assume a carrier sold for air travel meets the current rule.

Can my 50 pound dog fly in cabin with me?

The cited policy evidence does not establish eligibility from a 50 lb weight. It says cabin travel is for a small dog that fits in a soft-sided carrier. The carrier can be no larger than 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

The evidence gives no dog weight limit. Thus, this guide cannot turn 50 lb into an automatic yes or no. Give Alaska the dog's details and the carrier's measured size. Then ask for the current rule and acceptance decision for the planned flight.

Can I purchase a seat for my dog on Alaska Airlines?

Do not assume a passenger seat can be purchased for a dog. The official evidence used for this guide does not state a seat-purchase rule. Ask Alaska for the current rule before you choose or pay for a trip. Also check the live in-cabin pet policy.

Keep this question separate from pet-space availability. Alaska says you must book the passenger ticket first. Then reserve cabin pet space through Guest Care. Space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

How do I add a pet to my Alaska Airlines flight?

Read the current policy. Book the passenger ticket. Then contact Guest Care to reserve pet space. Space is subject to availability. This comes from Alaska Airlines' official guidance, Checked October 23, 2026.

Another airline may operate a segment of the trip. Contact that partner directly. Reserve space, learn its fees, and get its other information (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026). The airline named in the booking is not enough for this check. Look at who operates each flight.

What is the seven-step pre-payment checklist?

Finish each airline and destination check before you treat the trip as workable. Follow these steps:

  1. Open Alaska's current in-cabin policy and review it for the planned date and route.
  2. Measure the soft-sided carrier's external length, width, and height. Alaska's stated maximum is 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).
  3. Decide if the dog can fit under that carrier rule. Then ask Alaska for its current acceptance decision.
  4. Check the booking order. Alaska says to book the passenger ticket first. Then contact Guest Care to reserve pet space. Space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).
  5. Find the operating carrier for each segment. Contact any partner airline directly. Ask it about the reservation, fee, and other information (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).
  6. Check destination rules. Rules depend on the destination. A destination country sets its own entry rules when a pet leaves the United States (USDA APHIS, Checked October 23, 2026). USDA tells people on foreign trips to work with a USDA-accredited veterinarian (USDA APHIS, Checked October 23, 2026).
  7. For Hawaii, read the current official Animal Quarantine Information page before paying (Hawaii Department of Agriculture, Checked October 23, 2026).

USDA directs travelers to determine the destination country's entry requirements (USDA APHIS, Checked October 23, 2026). Separately, Alaska says pet space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

What should go on my travel-day document and measurement card?

Carry a short record of your trip checks and carrier measurements. This card keeps facts in one place. It does not prove legal eligibility or airline acceptance.

  • Passenger name and booking reference
  • Flight number, date, route, and operating carrier for each segment
  • Guest Care contact date and pet-space reservation details
  • Partner-airline contact details for any partner-operated segment
  • Carrier external measurements: length ___, width ___, height ___
  • Alaska's cited soft-sided carrier maximum: 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026)
  • Destination government page checked and date checked
  • Hawaii Animal Quarantine Information page check, if applicable (Hawaii Department of Agriculture, Checked October 23, 2026)

Keep the card with the current documents that the right authorities and airlines require. This article does not list a document set. Destination rules vary (USDA APHIS, Checked October 23, 2026).

How do airline approval and destination entry differ?

Airline acceptance and government entry are two separate decisions. USDA says the destination country sets entry rules when a pet leaves the United States (USDA APHIS, Checked October 23, 2026). Separately, Alaska says pet space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

Hawaii also has an official Animal Quarantine Information program. Its Animal Industry Division runs the program (Hawaii Department of Agriculture, Checked October 23, 2026). Travelers bound for Hawaii should use that live government page. It gives current entry details.

Insurance is separate as well. Compare expat pet insurance. Insurance does not guarantee airline acceptance or destination entry.

Frequently asked questions

What size dog can fly in cabin on Alaska Airlines?

The evidence sets no dog weight limit. It says a small dog must fit in a soft-sided carrier. The carrier can be no larger than 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026). Ask Alaska to apply its current acceptance rule to the dog and measured carrier.

Can a 20 lb dog fit under an airplane seat?

Weight alone does not decide fit under the cited rule. Alaska's evidence gives a maximum size for a soft-sided carrier. It is 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches. The evidence gives no dog weight limit (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026). Measure the carrier and ask Alaska for its current decision.

Can my 50 pound dog fly in cabin with me?

The evidence does not allow a yes or no based on 50 lb. Cabin travel is for a small dog that fits in a soft-sided carrier. The carrier can be no larger than 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026). Contact Alaska about the specific dog and carrier.

Can I purchase a seat for my dog on Alaska Airlines?

Do not assume that you can. The official evidence used here does not state a passenger-seat purchase rule for dogs. Check the live Alaska in-cabin pet policy. Ask Alaska directly before payment.

How do I add a pet to my flight on Alaska Airlines?

Read the policy and book the passenger ticket. Then contact Guest Care to reserve pet space. Space is subject to availability (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026). A partner may operate a segment. Contact it directly for its reservation, fee, and other information (Alaska Airlines, Checked October 23, 2026).

Written by the FG Team, the Furry Guardian editorial team, who keeps these border rules current.

Sources
  • https://news.alaskaair.com/company/what-to-know-before-traveling-with-a-canine-companion/
  • https://www.alaskaair.com/content/travel-info/policies/pets-traveling-with-pets/pets-in-cabin
  • https://www.alaskaair.com/content/travel-info/pets
  • https://www.aphis.usda.gov/pet-travel
  • https://hdoa.hawaii.gov/ai/aqs/aqs-info/